nomadstudy.blogg.se

Mac foundation shades chart
Mac foundation shades chart








mac foundation shades chart
  1. #Mac foundation shades chart skin
  2. #Mac foundation shades chart full
  3. #Mac foundation shades chart pro

Turns out that the synthetic bristles on a traditional foundation brush deposit more product, leading to fuller coverage. I wasn't surprised that none of the experts applied my foundation with their fingers-too streaky, they said-but I was intrigued by how some used synthetic and others used natural-bristled brushes. The brush you use can change the finish of the formula. Oh, and did I mention that both services are free?ĥ. At Sephora, meanwhile, my Sephora + Pantone Color IQ reading helped Razzano and me narrow down my ideal brand and formula from a mind-boggling 1,500 different foundation options. At the Estée Lauder counter at Saks, consultant Mei Santos used the iMatch Digital Shade Finder to select my best match of its Double Wear Makeup to Go Liquid Compact. That information then helps the consultant narrow down your best foundation shade.

#Mac foundation shades chart skin

How it works: the makeup artist presses a tool to a few spots on your face, such as your chin and forehead, and the system identifies your skin tone. Both Sephora and Estée Lauder (at select counters) use technology to help customers narrow their shade selections down to a few options. It's worth taking the extra time to use a foundation-matching tool. The differences were subtle, but it was clear which ones actually melted into my skin when compared.Ĥ.

#Mac foundation shades chart full

I usually tested two out of the three options on my full face. If we couldn't agree, we'd walk to the window-or in the case of the Make Up for Ever studio, to a light source that mimicked daylight-for a second check. At that point, we studied the options in a handheld mirror and decided which seemed the most natural on me. Once we identified my "overtone," or the intensity of my pigment, we moved onto my "undertone," or the shade that was peeking through. At MAC, for instance, my artist referred to the crook of my neck, while everywhere else, they took my entire face into consideration. Interestingly, everyone had a slightly different way of determining my shade. After assessing my makeup-free skin, each expert swiped three shade options from that type of formula onto my lower cheek toward my jawline. And that's when the consultation really began. Hearing that I'm a tinted moisturizer fiend who applies her makeup while walking from room to room helped the experts hone in on formulas with light-to-medium coverage. Everywhere I went, I was asked for my preferred foundation formula. And it's always best to test them in natural light. You should test several shades, ideally on the lower part of your cheek. My starting point: Me, without foundation on. My mission: to make sense of the ins and outs

#Mac foundation shades chart pro

And so I did, visiting five beauty boutiques and counters in NYC including the Make Up for Ever Pro Studio, the MAC Makeup Studio, the Estée Lauder counter at Saks Fifth Avenue and Sephora and Ulta in Maywood, New Jersey. But since foundation is one of the best makeup inventions of all time, I decided it was finally time to seek expert help. What looks like a good match in the bottle often shows up completely different on your skin, and after a few disappointments, it seems easier to skip it entirely. Deciding on a foundation formula is one thing-just pick from sheer, medium, or full coverage-but shade selection is a whole other process. But I also know I'm not alone in my confusion either. After a few tentative swipes on their hands, it's clear to everyone that I don't know what I'm doing. I'm also useless to my foundation-seeking friends, from the palest to the darkest, who've asked for my help. Confession: I've been writing about beauty for years and yet I couldn't point to my foundation shade on a wall if you paid me.










Mac foundation shades chart